PASSAIC COUNTY, N.J. --Nearly 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios are being recalled after wheat flour was introduced into its gluten-free oat flour system at its facility in Lodi Calif..
ABC reports that the boxes had been labeled gluten-free when packaged. A spokeswoman for General Mills told ABC "there have been reports of illness by consumers online and two illness complaints were reported directly to General Mills related to the affected products."
The company is voluntarily recalling the boxes and asks that consumers look at the expiration dates on their boxes to determine if they are a part of the recall. The company said this affects products made within four days of production of the original Cheerios and 13 days of production of Honey Nut Cheerios.
"We want to reassure you that this was an isolated incident and we have implemented a solution to ensure that this will not happen again. We'll also continue to test products and our oat flour supply to ensure our products meet the gluten-free standard. We care about what you and your family eat and we are truly sorry for this mistake. We will work extremely hard to earn back your trust," the statement on the Cheerios twitter read.
Click here to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.